2020 Earth Steward Teaching Award Recipients

2020 Award Recipients

The following educators have been chosen as the recipients of LSF’s first ever Earth Steward Teaching Awards to recognize teachers for their exemplary contribution to sustainability education in Canada. This years winners and runners up demonstrate exceptional leadership in sustainability education, are recognized as inspirations to their students and school community, and have taken on creative, innovative projects to advance sustainability learning and education.

Secondary Winner:

James Stuart (Queen Elizabeth School - Edmonton, Alberta)

“Each and every day James demonstrates and models what environmentally and socially conscious decision making looks like. His life-long commitment to environmental responsibility, innovation and accountability is an inspiration to everyone he shares his life with.” -Grame Dowdell (Nominator)


Elementary Winner:

Catherine (Anne) Corkery (St. Annes C.E.S - Peterborough, Ontario)

“My first passion is connecting children with the natural world. If we are to conserve the natural world for future generations, then we must teach the future decision-makers, who are the children of today, to love the natural world.” -Catherine (Anne) Corkery


Secondary Runners up:

Mathieu Morin and Oriane de Fenoyl (École secondaire Ronald-Marion - Pickering, Ontario)

From "Bouselloe," their unique four-credit program where students learn in an integrated, multidisciplinary, hands-on model through the lens of environmental leadership and sustainability, to organizing environmental careers day for their students and facilitating field trips and experiences that allow students to learn authentically, Mathieu and Oriane exemplify what it means to create innovative approaches to sustainability education that inspire passion in students.


Elementary Runner Up:

Amanda Bain (Cold Lake Elementary School - Cold Lake, Alberta)

“Amanda is one of the most passionate teachers I have ever met. She thinks outside the box to bring projects to her classroom that not only foster a love of learning but make the kids better stewards of the planet. One of her main projects this year was hands-on learning through the use of a tower garden. Extra food from the tower gardens is passed onto our local food bank which teaches students about never wasting food. She is creating a generation of kids that are more aware and truly care.” - Nominator


Supported by: 

 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Les Prix d’enseignement Gardiens de la planète

Lauréats de 2020

Les éducateurs suivants ont été sélectionnés à titre de lauréats des tout premiers Prix d’enseignement Gardiens de la planète de LST, qui visent à souligner la contribution exemplaire des éducateurs à l’enseignement au développement durable au Canada. Les lauréats et les finalistes font preuve d’un leadership exceptionnel en matière d’éducation, sont considérés comme des sources d’inspiration pour leurs élèves et leur communauté scolaire et ont mis en œuvre des projets créatifs et novateurs pour favoriser l’avancement de l’apprentissage et de l’éducation au développement durable.

Lauréat du secondaire :

James Stuart (école Queen Elizabeth - Edmonton, Alberta)

« Chaque jour, James personnifie la prise de décisions soucieuses de l’environnement et de l’intérêt collectif. Son engagement de longue date envers la responsabilité environnementale, l’innovation et la responsabilité est une source d’inspiration pour toutes les personnes qui l’entourent. » -Grame Dowdell (Nominateur)


Lauréate de l’élémentaire :

Catherine (Anne) Corkery (École secondaire catholique St. Annes - Peterborough, Ontario)

«Ma première passion consiste à encourager les enfants à communier avec le monde naturel. Pour être en mesure de conserver le monde naturel pour les générations futures, nous devons enseigner aux décisionnaires de demain, qui sont les enfants d’aujourd’hui, l’amour du monde naturel. » -Catherine (Anne) Corkery


Finalistes – secondaire :

Mathieu Morin and Oriane de Fenoyl (École secondaire Ronald-Marion - Pickering, Ontario)

Qu’il s’agisse de la mise en œuvre du programme « Boussole », qui permet aux élèves d’obtenir quatre crédits pour participer à un modèle intégré, pluridisciplinaire et pratique qui est présenté de l'angle du leadership environnemental et du développement durable, de l’organisation d’une journée des carrières environnementales à l’intention des élèves ou de la planification d’excursions et d’expériences qui favorisent l’apprentissage authentique de ces derniers, Mathieu et Oriane exemplifient la création d’approches novatrices à l’égard de l’enseignement au développement durable et inspirent la passion de leurs élèves.


Finaliste – élémentaire :

Amanda Bain (école élémentaire Cold Lake - Cold Lake, Alberta)

«Amanda est l’une des enseignantes les plus passionnées que j’aie jamais rencontrées. Elle sort des sentiers battus pour présenter à ses élèves des projets qui stimulent non seulement leur amour de l’apprentissage, mais qui les aident aussi à devenir de meilleurs intendants de la planète. Cette année, l’un de ses principaux projets a consisté dans une expérience d’apprentissage pratique visant la création d’un jardin vertical. Les produits excédentaires de ce jardin ont été offerts à notre banque alimentaire locale, ce qui enseigne aux élèves à ne jamais gaspiller à la nourriture. Elle crée une génération de jeunes qui sont plus sensibilisés à l’environnement et s’en soucient réellement. » - Nominateur


S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.